How Much is Too Much?

    I am a hypochondriac. Well, a sort of hypochondriac anyway. You see, it isn’t my health and well being that I am obsessed with, but rather it is worrying about the health and well being of my children that keeps my stomach tied up in knots. Yes, I’m that mom. The overprotective, overbearing, on the edge of crazy mom who freaks out when the baby eats grass (pesticides can be deadly), the kids jump in muddy puddles (where brain eating amoeba foster), or want to eat popcorn at the movies (don’t even get me started on the evils of popcorn). So much so that when my three year old son came to me this morning with complaints of an earache, it was all I could do to keep from running to the computer and googling whether brain eating amoeba presents with symptoms of ear pain (after all, he had been jumping in those muddy puddles yesterday). Turns out it is just your average, run of the mill ear infection. I’m still keeping an eye on him though, I mean really, doctor’s don’t always get it right and I’m not sure that he took my concern about those muddy puddles seriously enough…

      My family members tell me I need to mellow out on my overprotective ways, but it’s not like I can just switch it off. And surely I am not the only mother out there with this affliction, am I?

3 thoughts on “How Much is Too Much?

  1. Pingback: How Much is Too Much? | The Mommy Vortex

  2. itsbrittrose

    I’m the same way with Haley. I’ve gotten quite a bit better about it since she’s started school. Kids pick up all kinds of colds and flus from the other kids at school, so it’s made me mellow out some… just because I know that it’s normal. But when she was younger, I was a wreck every single time she even coughed. Everyone in my family thought that I was being ridiculous, but I’m a mom and I’d rather be protective and on top of an issue rather than ignore it completely. That’s how I try to look at it, at least.

    Reply
    1. Mommy Vortex Post author

      I know, right? A friend of mine is always on me about how I need to chill out, but I’m thinking to myself that she has been to the ER with her kids a handful of times over the last thirteen years, where as my kids have never had a trip to the ER. Coincidence? I think not.

      Reply

What do you think?

