Blueberry Cinnamon Rolls

Blueberry Cinnamon Rolls recipe guest post by  Frugal Tired Mom:

I’m rather obsessed with Pinterest.  I’ve created about a hundred boards, mostly for fantasy, inspiration and enjoyment.  The food boards, however, tempt to me leave my cooking comfort zone and challenge myself with pseudo-gourmet culinary creations.  Some of these attempts have been disastrous, others passable and a few have actually been successful.  This is one of their stories….

Use the bread maker for dough.

Cinnamon rolls are a family favorite.  We don’t enjoy them often as I refuse to buy expensive, insanely unhealthy, frozen cinnamon rolls.  Pinterest offered me an alternative – homemade cinnamon rolls.  The farm stand has been overflowing with blueberries.  It was meant to be.  I studied the recipe, rolled up my sleeves and got to work.

Roll out and brush with butter.

Sprinkle with brown sugar and cinnamon.

The first step in my quest for blueberry cinnamon rolls was to make the dough.  I don’t have a stand mixer and I certainly don’t have a paddle attachment for my hand mixer.  I do have a bread maker which can be used to make dough.  This is what I used.  I layered the ingredients – wet, dry, butter, and yeast in the bread maker, set it on dough and left it alone.  It even rises in the bread maker.  Once the dough was done, I placed it between two large pieces of parchment paper and rolled it out.  The recipe called for a square-shaped dough but that was not happening for me.  My dough came out more roundish like a pizza.  It wasn’t as pretty as the Pinterest page but it worked.

Roll into a dough log.

Step two, the filling, was the easiest part.  I brushed the dough with melted butter and sprinkled brown sugar and cinnamon all over.  I placed blueberries on the sugars, pressing them slightly into the dough.  It was now time to turn the dough into the rolls. I took one end of the dough and began rolling towards the other side.  The goal is to make dough log.  I managed to make a loose log.  I will have to try to get a tighter roll next time.  I sealed the edges of my dough log to prevent the filling from escaping when the rolls were cut.  The original recipe did an excellent job explaining how to use floss to precisely cut the rolls.   The only floss in my house, however, was spearmint and I wasn’t going to use that.  I carefully used a sharp knife to cut the log into rolls.  I placed the rolls, face side up, in a large baking pan.  I eyeballed the cuts of the rolls, so mine were not exactly the same size.  Again, it was good enough.  I pressed any loose blueberries back into the rolls, covered it and let it rise once more.

Slice into rolls and let rise.

The final steps were also very easy.  I baked the rolls in a preheated oven for about eighteen minutes.  The kitchen filled with the sweet smell of cinnamon while I made the glaze.  I simply whisked together confectioner’s sugar, vanilla extract, milk and melted butter.  When the rolls were golden brown, I let them cool slightly before drizzling on the glaze.

Bake the rolls.

Make the glaze.

We savored our blueberry cinnamon rolls while they were still warm and sticky.  They were gooey and delicious.  I really liked the addition of the blueberries.  It was like a cross between sticky buns and blueberry pancakes.  YUM! The extra rolls can be stored in airtight container for about two days.  This Pinterest experiment was a roaring success.  Can’t wait to see how the next one goes…Frugal Tired Mom win!

Drizzle the glaze and enjoy!

Total Active Time – 1 hour            Total Cost – $.50/serving

Check out my Pinterest boards for more adventures as Frugal Tired Mom Bakes!

Original recipe found at tutti-dolci.com

Blueberry Cinnamon Rolls (18 Rolls)

Rolls: 3.5 cups flour, 2.5 tsp yeast, 1/4 cup sugar, 1/2 tsp salt, 1 cup milk, 1/4 cup unsalted butter (room temperature), 1 egg

Filling: 2 tbl unsalted butter (melted), 1/2 cup light brown sugar, 1.5 tsp cinnamon, 1.5 cups fresh blueberries

Glaze: 1 cup confectioner’s sugar, 1 tbl unsalted butter (melted), 1.5 tsp milk, 1 tbl vanilla extract

1. Make the dough:  Layer the dough ingredients in your bread maker according to the directions.  Apply the dough setting & let it do its magic.

2. Roll out the dough into a square/oblong shape.  Brush with melted butter, leaving 1/4 inch margin edge all around.  Sprinkle with brown sugar and cinnamon.  Add blueberries, slightly pressing them into the dough.

3. Roll the dough into a log shape.  Seal the edges of the dough before cutting.  Use unflavored dental floss or a sharp knife to slice into rolls.  Place the rolls face side up in a parchment-covered baking pan, cover and allow the rolls to rise for about 30 minutes.

4. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Bake the rolls (uncovered) for about 18 minutes or until golden brown.  Allow to cool slightly.

5. Make the glaze: Whisk together confectioner’s sugar, milk, melted butter and vanilla extract into a glaze.  Drizzle the glaze on warm rolls.  It will harden as the rolls cool.

Find other great recipes and homemaking tips at frugaltiredmom.com!

2 thoughts on “Blueberry Cinnamon Rolls

  1. Stacie

    Thank you so much for checking out my blog! If you make the rolls, let me know how they come out! I love your blog.. Especially the coming of age story… It said alot

    Reply

What do you think?

